Welcome to our exhibition

Divided - United

Hit movies in Germany


50 years of
German cinema history
in movie posters
in the Haus der Geschichte collection

Going to the movies is one of the favorite leisure-time activities of millions of people. This was also true of the two Germanys for four decades. In 1989, movie attendance totaled 107 million in the Federal Republic of Germany and 65 million in the GDR. Box office hits are indicators of cultural and social trends.

In addition to our virtual exhibition entitled Divided - United, portraying 50 years of German history in East and West German cartoons, we are now presenting a poster display of 50 years of German cinematic history, selected from the 18,000 posters in our collections.

The exhibition is arranged chronologically. It juxtaposes one popular movie each from East and West Germany for every year from 1949 to 1989. The exhibition thus goes into the differences and the similarities of movie-going in the two Germanys. The entertainment motive emerges as a point in common: "E.T." and "Dirty Dancing" were - in different years - box office hits in both German states. In other years, contrasts in everyday experience are shown in the choice of movies: The hugely successful film "Die Legende von Paul und Paula", for example, reflects the existential feelings of many people in the GDR at the beginning of the seventies. For the period after 1990, we present the major box office hit of each cinema season in united Germany

We based our selections on available attendance figures. The film reviews included are designed to generate discussion. Please join in the discussion and send us your views. For more detailed information, check the Impressum for various links on the topic of films and movies.

And now, enjoy your virtual excursion into cinema history.

August 1999

Click on the logo to access the exhibition.

Willkommen in unserer Ausstellung

Geteilt - Vereint

Kinoschlager in Deutschland

Zur_Ausstellung

50 Jahre
deutsche Kinogeschichte
in Filmplakaten
des Hauses der Geschichte

Der Kinobesuch gehört für Millionen von Menschen zu den beliebtesten Freizeitbeschäftigungen. Dies galt auch über vier Jahrzehnte in beiden Teilen Deutschlands. Im Jahr 1989 wurden in der Bundesrepublik 107 Millionen und in der DDR 65 Millionen Kinobesuche gezählt. Aus Kassenschlagern lassen sich kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Trends ablesen.

Neben unserer virtuellen Ausstellung "Geteilt - Vereint", die 50 Jahre deutscher Geschichte in Ost- und Westkarikaturen darstellt, präsentieren wir Ihnen nun auch eine Plakatausstellung zu 50 Jahren deutscher Kinogeschichte. Sie ist zusammengestellt aus dem 18.000 Objekte umfassenden Bestand an Plakaten unserer Sammlungen.

Der Aufbau der Ausstellung ist chronologisch. Für jedes Jahr von 1949 bis 1989 stehen sich ein Publikumserfolg in der Bundesrepublik und der DDR gegenüber. Die Ausstellung geht damit auf Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten des Kinobesuchs ein. So zeigt sich ein übereinstimmendes Bedürfnis nach Unterhaltung: "E.T." und "Dirty Dancing" waren - in verschiedenen Jahren - Publikumserfolge in beiden deutschen Staaten. Dagegen schlagen sich in anderen Jahren unterschiedliche Alltagserfahrungen der Menschen in der Filmauswahl nieder: Der große Erfolg des Films "Die Legende von Paul und Paula" spiegelt zum Beispiel das Lebensgefühl vieler Menschen in der DDR zu Beginn der 1970er Jahre wider. Für die Zeit seit 1990 zeigen wir Ihnen jeweils den Kassenschlager der Kinosaison im vereinten Deutschland.

Als Auswahlkriterium haben wir Besucherzahlen - soweit sie zu ermitteln waren - zugrunde gelegt. Filmkritiken sollen zur Diskussion anregen. Bitte beteiligen Sie sich an der Diskussion und senden uns Ihre Meinung. Zur vertiefenden Informationen finden Sie im Impressum verschiedene Links zum Thema Film.

Und nun viel Spaß bei Ihrem virtuellen Ausflug in die Filmgeschichte.

Klicken Sie auf das Logo, um die Ausstellung zu betreten.

Introduction in English