Lounge

Eine Besucherin sitzt in einem Sessel mit einem Tablet in der Lounge
Eine Besucherin sitzt im Sessel mit einem Buch in der Lounge

Our modern Lounge invites you to try it out by exploring and browsing in it. Seated on a comfortable sofa with a view of the former Government Quarter, you can read magazines, newspapers and books on contemporary German history.
In our Sonic Chairs, you can sit in on interviews with contemporary witnesses as if you were talking to them yourself. On tablets, we offer history enthusiasts exciting websites, apps and historical film material.

The new Lounge is also a meeting place. On the architecturally integrated stage, contemporary witnesses are interviewed, authors present their books. You have access via tablets to the whole range of our library resources and to our databanks. Notebooks are available, as well as free Wi-Fi and sufficient electrical outlets for your own equipment. 
The Lounge design was developed by the Dutch library designer Aat Vos together with staff members of our Foundation.

Opening hours

Tuesday–Friday: 9 a.m.–7 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday: 10 a.m.–6 p.m.

Contact

Phone: +49 228 91 65-236
E-Mail: iz(at)hdg.de

Zwei junge Frauen sitzen auf einem Sofa in der Bibliothek, dahinter steht ein Bücherregal.

Library catalogue

An online catalogue is available for your research, which includes various data pools. There you will find all of the Lounge’s contemporary history resources as well as those of GDR History.

To our library catalogue (German)

 

 

You can search a total of 260,000 volumes. Besides 10,000 books, videos and audio documents on contemporary German history, a selection of daily and weekly newspapers is available in the Lounge. Titles from the stacks can be ordered on site or by telephone or e-mail. Restricted use applies to some books and periodicals that are displayable as objects.

You can use the library resources on site free of charge. In the Lounge you have free Wi-Fi access. A coin-operated photocopier is also available.
Fees for processing research inquiries vary in accordance with the amount of work involved. For groups, we offer free introductory surveys of the Lounge. If you are interested, please register with the Visitor Services: 0228 91  65-400.

Special features
Experience history in the Lounge: Photo books, cartoon books, exhibition catalogues, illustrated collections, print media, videos and audio documents exhibit our history from various perspectives. Besides our exhibition and collection topics, an additional focal point is the collaboration with contemporary witnesses. The video platform www.zeitzeugen-portal.de offers interviews with persons from the political, economic and social sectors. By means of our Sonic Chairs, they and their memories make the past come alive.
Our resources include scientific and scholarly literature, books and audiovisual media suitable for display as objects, books containing dedications, and first editions of interest to bibliophiles.

Films and audio documents
Some 6,000 film and sound documents present contemporary history as an audiovisual narrative. You can use them in the Lounge. Contemporary witnesses tell their story; music and films reflect the feel for life and the Zeitgeist of bygone times. In addition, our media resources include some 62,000 films and audio documents subject to restricted use.

Digital media
All online projects of our Foundation are available on tablets or laptops. The contemporary witnesses portal (Zeitzeugenportal) can be conveniently used in our Sonic Chairs. In the info portal history enthusiasts will find, specially assembled in theme clusters, the Foundation’s online projetcs, selected links on contemporary history, and various databanks, for example you can “Search the Collections” in our object database.

Library of GDR History
The former library of the All-German Institute has belonged since 1 January 1994 to the Haus der Geschichte and is integrated into the Lounge. Continuously growing for 50 years and currently comprising over 180,000 volumes, it is one of the leading collections of the history of the GDR and East-West German relations. Besides political history, focal points include art in the GDR, biographies, and everyday cultural life in the GDR. Especially noteworthy are the library’s 2,000 magazine titles and 380 newspaper titles, including 242 GDR newspapers with local and district pages of the regional newspapers available on microfilm. The press cuttings archive, covering the period from 1953 to 1977, contains 3.5 million articles on major topics appearing in newspapers and other periodicals from both German states.

In our library catalogue you will find German and international magazines and journals. The library also offers an extensive collection of periodicals from the former GDR.

To the magazines (German)

Our collection of GDR newspapers includes regional newspapers as well as their local and district pages, district newspapers and a certain number of specialist periodicals. By giving advance notice you can browse among over 380 titles available on microfilm.

To the newspapers (German)

Object Database

Research museum objects online

Our “Search the Collections” object database enables you to research items in the collections at the four Haus der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Foundation sites. Currently you can explore around 66,000 objects and audio-visual media.

To our object database (German)

Lounge

Eine Besucherin sitzt in einem Sessel mit einem Tablet in der Lounge
Eine Besucherin sitzt im Sessel mit einem Buch in der Lounge

Unsere moderne Lounge lädt zum Ausprobieren, Mitmachen und Stöbern ein. Auf gemütlichen Sofas mit Blick aufs ehemalige Regierungsviertel können Sie kostenlos Zeitschriften, Zeitungen und Bücher zur deutschen Zeitgeschichte lesen.
In unseren Soundsesseln erleben Sie Zeitzeugen-Interviews so, als hätten Sie selbst mit dem Zeitzeugen gesprochen. Auf Tablets empfehlen wir Geschichtsbegeisterten spannende Webseiten, Apps und historisches Filmmaterial.

Die neue Lounge ist auch ein Ort der Begegnung. Auf der integrierten Bühne werden Zeitzeugen-Gespräche geführt, Autoren stellen ihre Bücher vor. Über Tablets erreichen Sie unseren gesamten Bibliotheksbestand und unsere Datenbanken. Notebooks gibt es ebenso wie freies WLAN und ausreichend Stromanschlüsse für die Arbeit mit eigenen Geräten.
Das Konzept für die Einrichtung wurde vom niederländischen Bibliotheksdesigner Aat Vos gemeinsam mit den Mitarbeitern der Stiftung entwickelt.

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag bis Freitag: 9–19 Uhr 
Samstag und Sonntag: 10–18 Uhr

Kontakt

Tel.: (0228) 91 65-236
E-Mail: iz(at)hdg.de

Zwei junge Frauen sitzen auf einem Sofa in der Bibliothek, dahinter steht ein Bücherregal.

Bibliothekskatalog

Für Ihre Recherche steht ein Online-Katalog mit verschiedenen Datenpools zur Verfügung. Dort finden Sie den gesamten Bibliotheksbestand zur Zeitgeschichte und zur Geschichte der DDR.

Zum Bibliothekskatalog

 

Sie können in einem Gesamtbestand von 260.000 Bänden recherchieren. Neben 10.000 Büchern, Videos und Hörbeiträgen zur deutschen Zeitgeschichte steht eine Auswahl an Tages- und Wochenzeitungen in der Lounge zur Verfügung. Magazinbestände können vor Ort, telefonisch oder per Mail bestellt werden. Für Objektbücher, -zeitungen und -zeitschriften gelten zum Teil eingeschränkte Nutzungsbedingungen.

Vor Ort können Sie das Angebot der Bibliothek kostenlos nutzen. In der Lounge haben Sie freien WLAN-Zugang. Zudem steht Ihnen ein Münzkopierer zur Verfügung. Wenn Sie eine aufwendige Rechercheanfrage haben, unterliegt diese einer Gebührenordnung, die je nach Aufwand variiert.
Für Gruppen bieten wir kostenfreie Einführungen in die Lounge an. Bitte melden Sie sich bei Interesse beim Besucherdienst: 0228 91 65-400.

Besonderheiten des Bestandes 
In der Lounge wird deutsche Zeitgeschichte erfahrbar: Fotobände, Karikaturenbücher, Ausstellungskataloge, illustrierte Darstellungen, Printmedien, Videos und Hörbeiträge zeigen unsere Geschichte aus verschiedenen Perspektiven. Neben den Themen unserer Ausstellungen und der Sammlung liegt ein weiterer Schwerpunkt auf der Zeitzeugenarbeit. Das Webangebot www.zeitzeugen-portal.de bietet Interviews mit Menschen des politischen, wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Lebens. In unseren Soundsesseln lassen sie mit ihren Erinnerungen die Vergangenheit lebendig werden.
Unser Bestand bietet sowohl wissenschaftliche Literatur als auch Bücher und Medien, die Objektcharakter haben und für Ausstellungszwecke geeignet sind sowie Bücher mit Widmungen oder bibliophile Erstausgaben.

Filme und Hörbeiträge
Rund 6000 Film- und Tondokumente erzählen Zeitgeschichte audio-visuell und können in der Lounge genutzt werden. Zeitzeugen kommen zu Wort, Musik und Filme spiegeln Lebensgefühl und Zeitgeist wider. Der Medienbestand des Hauses umfasst darüber hinaus rund 62.000 Filme und Hörbeiträge mit eingeschränkten Nutzungsrechten.

Digitale Medien
Alle Webangebote der Stiftung stehen auf Tablets oder Laptops zur Verfügung. Das Zeitzeugenportal kann in eigenen Soundsesseln komfortabel genutzt werden. Im Infoportal finden Geschichtsbegeisterte in eigens zusammengestellten Themenpaketen die Online-Angebote der Stiftung wie z.B. die Suche in den Sammlungen, ausgewählte Links zur Zeitgeschichte und verschiedene Datenbanken

Bibliothek zur Geschichte der DDR 
Die ehemalige Bibliothek des Gesamtdeutschen Instituts gehört seit dem 1. Januar 1994 zum Haus der Geschichte und ist in die Lounge integriert. Mit einem über 50 Jahre laufend ergänzten Bestand von mehr als 180.000 Bänden ist sie eine der führenden Sammlungen zur Geschichte der DDR und der innerdeutschen Beziehungen. Neben der politischen Geschichte sind weitere Schwerpunkte Kunst in der DDR, Biografien und Alltagskultur in der DDR. Besonders hervorzuheben sind 2.000 Zeitschriften- sowie 380 Zeitungstitel, darunter 242 Zeitungen aus der DDR mit lokalen Kreisseiten der Bezirkszeitungen als Mikrofilme. Über den Zeitraum von 1953 bis 1977 sind im Presseausschnittarchiv 3,5 Millionen thematisch wichtige Artikel aus Tageszeitungen und anderen Periodika aus beiden deutschen Staaten zusammengestellt.

In unserem Bibliothekskatalog finden Sie deutsche und internationale Zeitschriften. Die Bibliothek bietet darüber hinaus eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Zeitschriften aus der ehemaligen DDR.

Zu den Zeitschriften

Unsere Sammlung von DDR-Zeitungen umfasst neben den Bezirkszeitungen auch deren Lokal- und Kreisseiten, Kreiszeitungen und in bestimmtem Umfang auch Fachzeitungen. Stöbern Sie in mehr als 380 Titeln, die Ihnen nach Voranmeldung als Mikrofilm zur Verfügung stehen.

Zu den Zeitungen

Objektdatenbank

Museumsobjekte online recherchieren

In unserer Objektdatenbank „Suche in den Sammlungen“ können Sie Objekte aus den Sammlungen der vier Standorte der Stiftung Haus der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland recherchieren. Aktuell stehen Ihnen rund 66.000 Objekte und AV-Medien zur Verfügung.

Zur Objektdatenbank